Drumshanbo or bust!

Picnic basket and tartan blanket at the ready, about to set off to read at the Written Word Weekend in Drumshanbo. If you can’t make it, here’s something to be going on with…

Cure

I am nipping out for a hair of the dog –

you I commend to the care of the cat,

two Nurofen, and a glass of cold water.

When I come back I will bring you fruit,

newspaper stories, cigarettes, gossip.

I am nipping out for a hair of the dog

but I won’t be long, and I’ll think of you

vowing you’ll never touch drink again.

But two Nurofen and a glass of cold water

will be kind to your hangover – which

lets us know that more is survivable

than we imagine. My hair of the dog

will be raised in thanks that we’ve made it this far,

that living together is more comfort

than Nurofen and glasses of water.

Sleep well, sweetheart. I hope you don’t need

this Nurofen, this glass of cold water

while I’ve nipped out for a hair of the dog.

About Martin Mooney

Author of four collections of poetry - Grub (1993), Rasputin and his Children (2000), Blue Lamp Disco (2003) and The Resurrection of the Body at Killysuggen (2011.)
This entry was posted in Poems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

